Schengen - Types and Category - Ozg Visa Consultant

The Schengen Agreement has simplified travel between member nations by abolishing border checkpoints. Schengen visas are common visas established through guidelines set forth in the European Union's Schengen Acquis (Schengen Agreement).

The following 15 countries are currently active Schengen Visa members:

  1. Austria
  2. Germany
  3. Belgium
  4. Denmark
  5. Finland
  6. France
  7. Greece
  8. Iceland
  9. Italy
  10. Luxemburg
  11. Norway
  12. Portugal
  13. Spain
  14. Sweden
  15. The Netherlands

With the introduction of Schengen visas, travellers wishing to visit member nations no longer need to obtain separate visas for each country they wish to visit. Instead, a single uniform Schengen visa serves the same purpose for either short-term or long-term stays. Uniform Schengen visas are granted by use of a sticker that is affixed to the traveler's passport or other official travel document.

Schengen Visa Categories –

Schengen visas, which are acquired from a member nation's embassy or consulate, are issued in one of several categories depending on the needs of each individual traveler and their specific reason for stay:

Category A: An airport transit visa, required for some travellers passing through an airport's international transit area during a stop-over or transfer between two segments of an international flight. The requirement for this type of visa is an exception to the general right of transit without a visa through airport international transit areas.

Category B: A general transit visa, required for travellers who are not visa-free for travelling between non-Schengen states, but passing through the Schengen area. Each transit must not exceed five days.

Category C: A short-term stay visa entitling travellers to single continuous or multiple visits not exceeding three months during any 180 day period beginning with the date of first entry into the Schengen area. This type of visa is issued for reasons other than immigration.

Category D: A national visa issued by Schengen member states in accordance with their own national legislation. This type of visa typically allows travellers transit from a non-Schengen nation to the granting country within five days of issuance. The traveller may travel to other Schengen nations only after obtaining a residence permit following arrival in the initial destination country (or obtaining a different visa).

Category D+C: A visa combining the functions of both Category C and D visas. This type of visa is intended for long-term stays in the issuing Schengen state, but also allows travel within the Schengen Zone like a holder of a normal Category C visa.

FTD and FRTD: These special visas are issued for road (FTD) or rail (FRTD) transit only between the mainland Russian Federation and its westernmost region, Kaliningrad Oblast (an island in the Baltic Sea).

How to Apply for a Schengen Visa –

To obtain a Schengen visa, travelers must first identify which Schengen country is their main destination. This step determines the specific member state that is responsible for the processing and decision of the Schengen visa application. The application must be submitted to that nation's embassy or consulate. If a main destination cannot be determined, the application should be filed with the embassy or consulate of the Schengen country of first entry.

The application form must be submitted with a valid passport, and if necessary, other supporting documentation regarding the purpose and condition of the stay within the Schengen Zone. Some countries may require the applicant to appear in person to verbally explain their reasons for the visa application.

Applicants are required to possess valid travel insurance covering a minimum of 30,000 Euros to cover potential expenses that may be incurred as a result of emergency medical treatment or other health-related care. Proof of insurance must be provided after the traveller has been issued their Schengen visa.


"Consolidated version of the Council Regulation (EC) No 539/2001 of 15 March 2001 listing the third countries whose nationals must be in possession of visas when crossing the external borders and those whose nationals are exempt from that requirement." Official Journal of the European Communities. January 19, 2007.

"The Schengen Acquis." Official Journal of the European Communities. September 22, 2000.

"The Schengen area and cooperation." Europa/European Communities. October 12, 2007.

Ozg Visa Consulting
- Schengen Visa Consultant -